Sports Daypop

For first time since 1960 no players are elected to Baseball Hall of Fame f

For the first time since 1960, the National Baseball Hall of Fame will not have a new group elected in 2021. The Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced Tuesday night that none of the players on the 2021 ballot reached the 75% threshold needed for the honor, making it the first time since 2013 that the BBWAA didn’t elect anyone. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic postponing the Era Committee elections until next winter, there will be no Class of 2021.

The leading vote-getter was pitcher Curt Schilling, who was named on 71.1% of the ballots, only 16 votes shy of the minimum required for selection. He was followed by home run king Barry Bonds (61.8%) and pitcher Roger Clemens (61.6%). All three were in their ninth year of eligibility, leaving them one more opportunity next winter. Players have 10 chances at enshrinement through the BBWAA voting process before moving on to consideration by one of the Hall of Fame’s era-based veteran committees.

Last year’s selectees will be honored in July after the pandemic forced the postponement of the 2020 ceremony. That group includes players Derek Jeter, Larry Walker and Ted Simmons, along with labor leader Marvin Miller.

No new members to HOF; Schilling asks off ballot


Editorial credit: Ken Wolter /